Digital Divide/Digital Inequality

http://prezi.com/mvdilxqqngol/?utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=copy&rc=ex0share

Teaching in a high poverty district there is a clear distinction between the students who have access to and familiarity with technology and those who do not.  Luckily, we have been able to fund several computer labs as well as many classroom sets of iPads or Chromebooks.  However, this is only one step in a movement forward to lesson the digital divide and the digital inequality among our students.  In this assignment I worked collaboratively with four of my peers to research solutions to digital divide and digital inequality in Idaho and then present our findings in a narrated Prezi presentation.

Having used Prezi before in my classroom some new Multi Media principals I learned through this assignment included the ability to add animation to the presentation as well as the narration of slides.  Both of these were new to me and not something I had used when creating a Prezi before.  Though I did not animate my slides for my final portion of this assignment I did play around with it when creating my slides and find that it adds an engaging dynamic to a presentation.  Though intimidating at first,  I thoroughly enjoyed learning how to narrate the slides and see the potential this has for not only my classroom with my students but presentations with colleagues as well.

The idea of digital divide and digital inequality is one that I was aware existed but did not know there were so many facets to the issue.  The newest piece of information regarding digital inequality and digital divide that I learned when researching this topic was the extent to which being at a digital disadvantage affects one’s life.  These affects start with technological literacy and extend all the way to the quality or lack of health care one receives.  Just like we teach students the importance of problem solving and character education in our new technology driven world we are going to have to also teach our students that technological literacy is more than them just creating presentations and researching topics for school, but a life skill that they must give due diligence to when preparing for the “real world.”

Moving forward with this knowledge I plan on being more purposeful in my technological assignments I require students to complete.  I not only want them to use technology because it is engaging but I want them to understand why they are using it and persevere through tasks that are uncomfortable and challenging.  I want them to know that technology will influence aspects of their life beyond just their education in hopes that they will have at least the confidence to seek out opportunities to develop their technological literacy.

If provided additional time for this artifact I would add transitions to every slide that matched the pace of the narration.  With this, the information would appear on the slide as the narration that related to that piece occurred.  Additionally, as my group elected to narrate our own slides I might find a way for us to specifically acknowledge each other in our scripts, almost as a news anchor would introduce the reporter that the story would be cutting to.  I think as it is we did a good job of transitioning from one’s idea to the other but this idea is just one that could perhaps streamline the presentation even more.

 

 

Leave a Reply

